Other Sport

Rivers are the National Hockey League 1 Champions

Rivers State have won the National Hockey League 1 Tournament thanks to their 2-1 victory over IGP Flickers today at the Hockey pitch, Amiesimaka Stadium Portharcourt

The mouth watering clash between the top two teams at tournament was scheduled for 8am but due to heavy rainfall, it was postponed to 3pm. The two teams who won their first game against Kano by same goal margin came into the game with their destinies in their hands because the winner takes it all.

The tie started with both teams finding it difficult to find their rhythm because of the state of the pitch, the first ten minutes was tactical and cautiously played.

Vulasi Onta the tournament highest goal scorer wasn’t given room to play like he did in the first match but in the 12 minutes his run earned Rivers a penalty corner that led to their first goal. It was a beautifully ejected corner and Eta Victor made no mistakes converting it, that was the first penalty corner the Rivers will score at the tournament having played about 11 without scoring any.

With four minutes left in the normal time, Rivers made it two, this time through a penalty stroke which was converted by Adams John. At the end of the first 35minutes it end Rivers 2 - 0 IGP Flickers.

The 2nd half started just as the first half ended, Rivers who were two goals good kept their shape to deny the attacks from IGP Flickers who were looking to get back into the game. The IGP Flickers employed all the tactics in the textbook to break the Rivers defence but just couldn’t.

Three minutes to the end of the match IGP Flickers got a consolatory goal. IGP Flickers who scored their third goal against Kano through penalty corner converted another against Rivers. Buke David having made a good stop flicked the ball in to the top corner to reduce their deficit. IGP Flickers pushed for an equalizer but Rivers hung on to their lead and denied them.

The result means Rivers will go to next years Super League as the the League 1 champions, they will be joined by IGP Flickers who also qualified for placing 2nd.

Enjoyed reading? kindly share

Leave a Reply